The Hugo awards were announced in Melbourne last night. I didn’t win. But, hey, at least I didn’t have to lose in public. I slept soundly through the whole thing after a splendid anniversary here in Seattle. (What is it with awards timing this year?) Many thanks to everyone who read “It Takes Two” and thought enough of it to nominate it. Actually, thanks to everyone who read it, full stop. That’s point, after all: to be read. I am well pleased.

Congratulations to all those who did win. You rock–and I’m totally jealous of your rockets!

Best Fan Artist
* Brad W Foster (winner)
* Dave Howell
* Sue Mason
* Steve Stiles
* Taral Wayne

Best Fanzine
* StarShipSofa edited by Tony C. Smith (winner)
* Argentus edited by Steven H. Silver
* Banana Wings edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
* Challenger edited by Guy H. Lillian III
* Drink Tank edited by Christopher J Garcia, with guest editor James Bacon
* File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

Best Fan Writer
* Frederik Pohl (winner)
* Claire Brialey
* Christopher J Garcia
* James Nicoll
* Lloyd Penney

Best Semiprozine
* Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, & Cheryl Morgan (winner)
* Ansible edited by David Langford
* Interzone edited by Andy Cox
* Locus edited by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi
* Weird Tales edited by Ann VanderMeer & Stephen H. Segal

Best Professional Artist
* Shaun Tan (winner)
* Bob Eggleton
* Stephan Martiniere
* John Picacio
* Daniel Dos Santos

Best Editor, Short Form
* Ellen Datlow (winner)
* Stanley Schmidt
* Jonathan Strahan
* Gordon Van Gelder
* Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form
* Patrick Nielsen Hayden (winner)
* Lou Anders
* Ginjer Buchanan
* Liz Gorinsky
* Juliet Ulman

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
* Doctor Who: “The Waters of Mars”, written by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford; directed by Graeme Harper (BBC Wales) (winner)
* Doctor Who: “The Next Doctor”, written by Russell T Davies; directed by Andy Goddard (BBC Wales)
* Doctor Who: “Planet of the Dead”, written by Russell T Davies & Gareth Roberts; directed by James Strong (BBC Wales)
* Dollhouse: “Epitaph 1”, story by Joss Whedon; written by Maurissa Tancharoen & Jed Whedon; directed by David Solomon (Mutant Enemy)
* FlashForward: “No More Good Days” written by Brannon Braga & David S. Goyer; directed by David S. Goyer; based on the novel by Robert J. Sawyer (ABC)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form
* Moon, screenplay by Nathan Parker; story by Duncan Jones; directed by Duncan Jones (Liberty Films) (winner)
* Avatar, screenplay and directed by James Cameron (Twentieth Century Fox)
* District 9, acreenplay by Neill Blomkamp & Terri Tatchell; directed by Neill Blomkamp (TriStar Pictures)
* Star Trek, screenplay by Robert Orci & Alex Kurtzman; directed by J.J. Abrams (Paramount)
* Up, screenplay by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter; story by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter, & Thomas McCarthy; directed by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter (Disney/Pixar)

Best Graphic Story
* Girl Genius, Volume 9: Agatha Heterodyne and the Heirs of the Storm Written by Kaja and Phil Foglio; Art by Phil Foglio; Colours by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment) (winner)
* Batman: Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader? Written by Neil Gaiman; Pencilled by Andy Kubert; Inked by Scott Williams (DC Comics)
* Captain Britain And MI13. Volume 3: Vampire State Written by Paul Cornell; Pencilled by Leonard Kirk with Mike Collins, Adrian Alphona and Ardian Syaf (Marvel Comics)
* Fables Vol 12: The Dark Ages Written by Bill Willingham; Pencilled by Mark Buckingham; Art by Peter Gross & Andrew Pepoy, Michael Allred, David Hahn; Colour by Lee Loughridge & Laura Allred; Letters by Todd Klein (Vertigo Comics)
* Schlock Mercenary: The Longshoreman of the Apocalypse Written and Illustrated by Howard Tayler

Best Related Book
* This Is Me, Jack Vance!(Or, More Properly, This is “I”) by Jack Vance (Subterranean Press) (winner)
* Canary Fever: Reviews by John Clute (Beccon)
* Hope-In-The-Mist: The Extraordinary Career and Mysterious Life of Hope Mirrlees by Michael Swanwick (Temporary Culture)
* The Inter-Galactic Playground: A Critical Study of Children’s and Teens’ Science Fiction by Farah Mendlesohn (McFarland)
* On Joanna Russ edited by Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan)
* The Secret Feminist Cabal: A Cultural History of SF Feminisms by Helen Merrick (Aqueduct)

Best Short Story
* “Bridesicle,” Will McIntosh (Asimov’s 1/09) (winner)
* “The Bride of Frankenstein,” Mike Resnick (Asimov’s 12/09)
* “The Moment,” Lawrence M. Schoen (Footprints; Hadley Rille Books)
* “Non-Zero Probabilities,” N.K. Jemisin (Clarkesworld 9/09)
* “Spar,” Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld 10/09)

Best Novelette
* “The Island,” Peter Watts (The New Space Opera 2; Eos) (winner)
* “Eros, Philia, Agape,” Rachel Swirsky ( 3/09)
* “It Takes Two,” Nicola Griffith (Eclipse Three; Night Shade Books)
* “One of Our Bastards is Missing,” Paul Cornell (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction: Volume Three; Solaris)
* “Overtime,” Charles Stross ( 12/09)
* “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast,” Eugie Foster (Interzone 2/09)

Best Novella
* “Palimpsest,” Charles Stross (Wireless; Ace, Orbit) (winner)
* “Act One,” Nancy Kress (Asimov’s 3/09)
* The God Engines, John Scalzi (Subterranean)
* Shambling Towards Hiroshima, James Morrow (Tachyon)
* “Vishnu at the Cat Circus,” Ian McDonald (Cyberabad Days; Pyr, Gollancz)
* The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, Kage Baker (Subterranean)

Best Novel
* The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade) (tie winner)
* The City & The City, China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan UK) (tie winner)
* Boneshaker, Cherie Priest (Tor)
* Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
* Palimpsest, Catherynne M. Valente (Bantam Spectra)
* Wake, Robert J. Sawyer (Ace; Penguin; Gollancz; Analog)

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
* Seanan McGuire (winner)
* Saladin Ahmed
* Gail Carriger
* Felix Gilman
* Lezli Robyn

Info from